Only me…


First off, I’d like to apologize for not posting much in the last month. I’ve been busy trying to get my group moving a little more than usual.

I’ve also been diving head-first into MYTH, developing the other characters further. I’ve figured out that either I’m going to write the next lord of the rings, or I’m never going to write the fucking thing. One of the two… I’m personally pulling for the first choice.

Secondly, and related to the first, I want to introduce you to a new poster I’ve created for the first book of MYTH:

© 2011 Aaron Shively

Before you ask… yes, I did make it. Yes, it was from scratch (except the background which was a stock HDRI panorama image I set as an illuminated environment). And yes, I am ridiculously excited about it!

The content depicts the gear used by Andial, the leader of the Golden Guard and chaperone to the young Priestess, Claire. He’s a regal born Aelphi given the conflicting honor and punishment of leading the most heralded group of abominations in existence.

You’d want to hide your face behind a scary golden mask too, huh?

 

Well, that’s not why he has the mask…

 

I’ll leave it at that.

 

Aaron Shively

(p.s. this is actually a direct scene taken from the book…)

About Aaron Shively

I have been working as a freelance writer and artist for the last decade. In that time, I've done everything from ghostwriting to toy design and everything in between. I am currently working on a novel series called 'Myth' which has held my attention for the past sixteen years. I have spent my time developing the world, character and story and am now ready to funnel all the preliminary material into the manuscript of the first installment, 'of Men and Monsters' Bookmark & Share

Posted on 07/02/2011, in concept art, Concepts, Images, Myth, of Men and Monsters, Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Whoa…gorgeous poster. If that was a book cover, I’d pick it up in a heartbeat. Maybe even less time than that. 😉

  2. Great poster Aaron :0)

    • Thank you very much… expect more designs like this in the near future.

      The book in question is going to be a highly illustrated novel with one full color insert like this per chapter. All other images will be nib pen and ink illustrations in a similarly realistic style.

      This is an interesting little project because unlike a normal novel, I’ll not just have the usual character development documents but also the character designs, concept art and all other visual development to show as well.

  3. Love the poster !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

