The Fun Part


Here’s my personal philosophy…

Measure twice, cut once.

This does work for writing. Not everyone breezes through their first draft with little regard for pacing, sentence structure, paragraph breaks, readability, grammar, punctuation, etc. It’s the same for consistency in story-telling. For sci-fi and fantasy works, the mantra has to be refined.

Create a system of measurement, measure twice, create a cutting tool, then cut once.

The concept is done, the worlds are fleshed out, the peoples and places have been described. Maps have been drawn for continuity’s sake. My system of measurement has been set in stone and the eyeballing gave way to absolute relativism long ago.

I am at the point of creating a cutting tool and this is the fun part.

Developing characters’ method of action is giddily enough like playing god. Their voice, their personalities are the best part of everything.

I’ve gotten it in my head to do a character interview for Myth:OMAM which I will post here as soon as it is finished.

– Aaron

About Aaron Shively

I have been working as a freelance writer and artist for the last decade. In that time, I've done everything from ghostwriting to toy design and everything in between. I am currently working on a novel series called 'Myth' which has held my attention for the past sixteen years. I have spent my time developing the world, character and story and am now ready to funnel all the preliminary material into the manuscript of the first installment, 'of Men and Monsters' Bookmark & Share

Posted on 06/13/2011, in Myth, Myth, of Men and Monsters, of Men and Monsters, Philosophy, Projects, Rantings, Updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I like the measure twice cut once. I think part of the reason it’s taken me so long to write my novel is that I always keep going back and changing things before I’ve completely finished the draft. You might say I’ve been measuring for 11 years. But once it’s cut, it’s cut and it’s not so easy to turn around and alter it back to the exact same way it was.

    can’t wait for this character interview!

Leave a Reply

