Editing


I’m a writer.

I enjoy writing, the flow of creativity from the mind through the fingers into whatever medium I choose. One of my greatest pleasures is to see my characters rise from nothing.

There is one part of the process which I do not like. I wouldn’t go so far to say that I hate it. It simply bores me. It’s editing and is the level I have reached with my short story collection.

… I’m falling asleep.

Tell me, if you write and edit, how the hell do you get through it?

About Aaron Shively

I have been working as a freelance writer and artist for the last decade. In that time, I've done everything from ghostwriting to toy design and everything in between. I am currently working on a novel series called 'Myth' which has held my attention for the past sixteen years. I have spent my time developing the world, character and story and am now ready to funnel all the preliminary material into the manuscript of the first installment, 'of Men and Monsters' Bookmark & Share

Posted on 06/12/2011, in Personal, Questions, Rantings, Uncategorized, Updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Writing a first draft is easy because it doesn’t have to be good. It can be the biggest, steamiest pile of cow pat ever produced by pen because you can fix it later. But editing is ‘fixing it later’ – making it good. That’s why it’s tough. But that’s also why, for me at least, it’s rewarding. Because you’re taking your stinky baby and developing it into something wonderful. Focus on the result – the overall result of a perfect story and the individual result of each flaw banished.

    If you really hate it, you could just produce perfection in the first draft. That’s always an option.

    • LOL. I’m a constant rewriter, as I write. I’ll transfer sentences (as I find I often write them out of order and have to reorder them). Any major flaws in my rough draft are usually from my speech patterns (which aren’t always accepted) and a few typos. Of course, this could mean that I’m a pompous ass. I could very well be a shit writer.

  2. Don’t laugh – I love editing. I know, it’s like slogging through mud, but as I do it my writing starts to perk up and shine. For every punctuation mark I forgot to include to my trying to get rid of so many adverbs, which I tend to over use, I see editing as dusting the furniture. You may have beautiful, brand-new furniture, but with a layer of dust on top it loses its beauty. Get out the Pledge and soft cloth and go to work. Take it a little at a time, even if it’s a paragraph. Be brutal. It’s part of the process, and if you don’t do it an editor will, and an editor will perhaps change something you don’t want changed.

Leave a Reply

