Positive Attitude? You’ve got to be kidding me.


I’ve been sick for the last two weeks. I’ve been sick and I’ve had problems with my left eye. I’ve been sick, had problems with my left eye and my laptop power adapter nearly caused a house-fire which rendered my laptop useless during the last stretch of Story A Day.

But I’m still smiling. Oh, by god, I’m still smiling.

I wrote a book of short stories, a 196 page manuscript ringing up at 69,640 words, in 31 days.

Why are you telling us this? Don’t we already know about it? Now you’re just bragging… You ass.

Why am I telling you this? It’s because… Well, I am bragging. That’s right. I’m bragging! I’ve had some shitty circumstances digging into me, tethering me away and drawing me back from my goals but I stuck with them and broke the cables.

Ok, enough of the purple personal praise. 

Ok, enough of the Alienating alternative alliteration.

There was is a point to this post.

It’s summed up in a single word: Resolve.

Not the carpet cleaner, I hope. Even though that works wonders on pet stains and odor elimination (product placement smile).

I’m talking about pushing yourself to your goal. Apathy is an enemy using pain and fatigue as weapons. Your goal is its death. Kill it.

Remember, it’s not just important. It’s the law.

– Aaron Shively

About Aaron Shively

I have been working as a freelance writer and artist for the last decade. In that time, I've done everything from ghostwriting to toy design and everything in between. I am currently working on a novel series called 'Myth' which has held my attention for the past sixteen years. I have spent my time developing the world, character and story and am now ready to funnel all the preliminary material into the manuscript of the first installment, 'of Men and Monsters' Bookmark & Share

Posted on 06/11/2011, in Personal, Rantings, Uncategorized, Updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

