Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger


I enjoy music.

Beyond that captain obvious level of ‘duh’, there lies layers of complexity. I enjoy different kinds of music for different activities, different emotions, different days.

There are days where I cannot write, draw, or create without my headphones blaring. I need to be surrounded by an environment fostering patterns and rhythms. They bring out the necessary patterns and cycles needed to create imaginary life.

My preferences are eclectic. I CAN listen to anything. If I have a purpose, a specific focus for my time, I need certain genres.

I can write anything to classical music but there are other types that raise subtle nuances to high crescendoes which composer like Tchaikovsky simply cannot push me to.

Science fiction needs Techno/Dance. The Prodigy, Crystal Method, Fatboy Slim, Infected Mushroom, Deadmau5, filter, daft punk.

Fantasy, as it is slightly more complicated, requires different types for different feels. For soft scenes, film scores do nicely. For action scenes or dark, horrific pieces and parts, the heavy and death metal fills the void.

General fiction and romance needs pop. It lets me run the middle of the road.

So… what’s your music? Do you write to it, draw to it, or just live to it?

– Aaron Shively

Posted on 05/13/2011, in Personal, Questions, Updates and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. When I’m writing fantasy, I often listen to the Lord of the Rings soundtrack. It does the trick every time.

    For extremely sad pieces where I feel the need to get ‘in the mood,’ I usually pull up something like Evanescence’s “Bring Me to Life” or “My Immortal.”

    • Wow, to be honest, you and I have similar tastes in music, lol. Although, Bring Me to Life generally inspires something a little more high tempo than sadness. Tourniquet does that for me.

Leave a Reply

