To protest or not to protest…


As children, we’re always told to ignore the idiots. Ignore the trouble makers, don’t give them attention and they’ll shrink and go away.

Well… Bullshit.

In our world of massive media and sole-focus on publicity and ratings, any tom, dick, and asshole can get all the attention they want.

Case-in-point: Westboro Baptist Church.

I don’t ‘HATE’. I never have. I understand people too well. Where most hate, I pity. I know it’s ignorance and stubborn faith that keeps most people in a place of hate.

But these guys come close to pushing it.

For those not in the know, the Westboro Baptist Church likes to go to funerals, public events, schools, damn near anyplace they can make a point…

Their point?

They see all natural disasters and terrorist attacks as evidence that god hates nations that accept homosexuality.

Hmm… Yeah, I know.

They’re rather vocal about it, to the point of begging for a punch in tha face. (Read that last part with a harsh brooklyn accent.)

They are planning to protest a local high school on Tuesday, the 10th.

The PDF on their site condemns the school as ‘fag infested’ and the students as ‘violent, freakish, worthless, brute-beast children’.

I’m considering whether I should go and provide some opposition OR if I should let things go and maybe the media won’t cover it so much.

The only reason I’d be going is to provide support for the kids. The WB will be there right when they arrive, at 7:10 – 7:40. It can be extremely scarring for random people to be protesting YOU as you arrive to your first class.

I’m going to spend the next few days deciding what to do. If you have any opinions, stories, or questions go ahead and comment.

– Aaron Shively

About Aaron Shively

I have been working as a freelance writer and artist for the last decade. In that time, I've done everything from ghostwriting to toy design and everything in between. I am currently working on a novel series called 'Myth' which has held my attention for the past sixteen years. I have spent my time developing the world, character and story and am now ready to funnel all the preliminary material into the manuscript of the first installment, 'of Men and Monsters' Bookmark & Share

Posted on 05/01/2011, in Personal, Philosophy, Questions, Rantings and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. As a Christian, it sickens me to see people supposedly of my own faith acting in such a horrific way and spouting such obscenities. This is one of the most damaging things a person can do and I can’t believe they do it in the name of God.

    I’ve always been a people-pleaser. I avoid conflict. It always seems so unnecessary. But I can’t imagine how those kids will feel when this happens. So I’d be tempted to go, like you. To be one friendly face in the crowd, standing up for them.

  2. I think that the need is for people to stand against so much hate and prejudice. If the good guys don’t protest for the good guys then all that is out there is the hate.

Leave a Reply

