Updates, callbacks and a new direction.


Those who read my blog pretty regularly tend to notice that tiny spark of what-the-shit-are-you-thinking(?) which I hold so dear. To elaborate and explain why I’m mentioning this… I’ve added a new project.

It’s called ‘Speechless’ and it’s a Young Adult literary fiction romance novel. I posted the first chapter, which I wrote in an hour on my phone, using the ‘swype’ input method so I wouldn’t wake my wife.

I’ve never written a romance… I’ve never written a YA… to be honest, I’ve never completed a Novel. My first was always meant to be MYTH: OMAM. BUT, it seems like a huge undertaking, not just for me, but for a prospective reader. The rise of interest in the chapter of Speechless (190 views in a half hour) seems to tell me that a YA novel may be accessible enough to get my name out and give me a writing credit. I’ve decided to write it in full and attempt to convince someone to publish it… by force…. muhuhahahahahahahahaha.

I’ll post up some information on speechless… until then, go read the first chapter, you’ll pretty much understand where I’m going with it. Of course, it’ll have twists and turns (how did he become mute?) but overall it’s going to be a bit simpler than my complex bulk of a fantasy universe called Myth.

Anyway. There’s more news from me.

I recently auditioned for a voice acting role for an animation project called ‘the Taffetas‘. A couple of college students created it and they’re hoping to pitch it to WB later this year. Unfortunately, the main character was taken but his arrogant, gruff, abusive, bear-like father was available… and… wouldn’t you know it? My voice is deep and growly and I apparently scared them with my improv. 😉

They’ve said I’ve basically got the role, they just want to hear it in a slight British accent. This may be a fun project… and I always want to get my name to studios, in any form.

I’ll be re-auditioning tonight. Wish me luck!

– Aaron Shively

About Aaron Shively

I have been working as a freelance writer and artist for the last decade. In that time, I've done everything from ghostwriting to toy design and everything in between. I am currently working on a novel series called 'Myth' which has held my attention for the past sixteen years. I have spent my time developing the world, character and story and am now ready to funnel all the preliminary material into the manuscript of the first installment, 'of Men and Monsters' Bookmark & Share

Posted on 04/28/2011, in Collaboration, Excerpts, Personal, Rantings, Updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hope the audition went well! As for writing novels, it’s better to think in terms of scenes, and write one scene at a time. They don’t have to be in order, either. If you run into a wall at the beginning of the second act (in 3-act narrative structure), stop and look at your characters — what does each want? What does each do to get it? That works every time for me!

  2. Fantastic news – you go slay ’em with that deep voice !!!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

