Time wasters


I’m a big supporter of wasting time every now and again. It gives you an exhalation from work when you can do something that is more fun than productive.

My two major recreational activities are embarrassing as hell, to be honest.

The first and least is Backyard Monsters on Facebook… Its sort of like a farming game with aspects of a war-strategy and tower defense. You farm resources to create monsters and build your backyard base… you attack other bases by flinging your monsters by way of a catapult. It’s interesting and fun for a few minutes each day.

The one that actually sometimes threatens to leach my time away from any other projects is called WIZARD 101.

This MMORPG is NOT JUST FOR KIDS, DAMMIT!

In this game, I am Aaron Summerflame, a level 60 sorcerer at the top of the game. I quest in solo, which most people won’t or can’t do.

I give advice, I help others and when my wife, sister in law or niece (that’s right, we all have subscriptions) needs someone to quest with, they ask for me.

I’m normally a hardcore gamer… when I game, I get into it. With my personality, you’d probably be expecting world of warcraft… but I shy away from the major undertakings. I’ve lost too many friends to the world of WOW and Dragon Age and all of those addictive creatures.

Wizard 101 is simple enough to not take up my whole day, but engaging enough to ensure I have fun and get a little bit of a challenge. For a writer, games are probably the best time-wasters because it keeps your mind in a plot and character driven format… Books and movies are also great but they’re less interactive. With a game, you’re able to become the character… to me, it’s far more related to the act of writing.

What are your favorite ways to wind-down? If it’s reading, what do you read? Movies, what kind? Games, tell us who you frag and what level you are.

Why?

Because I’m needy and you are in my power!

– Aaron Summerflame Shively

About Aaron Shively

I have been working as a freelance writer and artist for the last decade. In that time, I've done everything from ghostwriting to toy design and everything in between. I am currently working on a novel series called 'Myth' which has held my attention for the past sixteen years. I have spent my time developing the world, character and story and am now ready to funnel all the preliminary material into the manuscript of the first installment, 'of Men and Monsters' Bookmark & Share

Posted on 04/26/2011, in Personal, Philosophy, Questions, Rantings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Thou dost lack devotion.

    Neither of you know what having your life consumed by a game truly is. I don’t quite do it anymore, but playing twelve different games for an hour a day is just as bad.

  2. Haha, never thought of chess that way – but you’re right!

    And, man, Red Dead Redemption did own my life. For like a good month. I got every outfit, did every quest, and almost every single achievement. *le sigh* And then the undead nightmare zombie DLC came out and I was hooked for another week or two. ^_^

  3. I’ve never really played an MMORPG. And to be honest, I don’t really have any interest in playing.

    I DO, however, love a good RPG. It’s all my husband’s fault – before I met him, I never gamed. Now I’m hooked on Oblivion, Dragon Age, Red Dead Redemption and so many more. I can’t PC game to save my life, so it’s all strictly X360. But you’re right about it being a time waster (albeit, a very fun one!). If I have a day off, I spend half my time gaming when I should be writing. 😛

    • LOL. I’ve been RPGing since Final Fantasy 8… Although I can argue that Chess was the first RPG and I think a lot of people would agree with me if they really think about it. You become the general to that army and you must take on that role. It’s simple, but those with the write kind of mind can take it one step further.
      I’ve heard great things about Red Dead Redemption but I generally stay away from console RPGs cause it’s been known to turn me into a controller and take over my life. lol. Thanks for the input!

Leave a Reply

