The Great Length Predicament


They say that size doesn’t matter… but a lot of casual individuals see mine and they become put off by how large it is. I don’t know if they’re afraid they can’t handle it or if they have some sort of envy at the enormity of it.

I can’t help if it’s large.

It was just written that way. šŸ˜‰

By now you’re wondering what I’m talking about. I’ll clue you in.

I joined Writerscafe shortly after joining WordPress and uploaded the entirety of the first chapter of M:OMAM, Echos. The monster is over eight thousand words in length. It has been viewed 78 times but has never been reviewed by anyone.

Going through the other writing on the site, I see a habit that people have with writing lengthy reviews on tiny entries. I realized that Writerscafe is based on points and if you can read a little, write fast, and post massive reviews, you’ll get more points and you’ll be able to get a higher ranking on their author search.

I find this a little anti-productive for writers who have large projects that they’d like to have reviewed by the general public.

I can only imagine the scenario that happens when someone views Echos.

They click, expecting something they can read in a pinch of time. They do their initial surveyor’s scroll to assess the damage… They continue to scroll… They keep scrolling… By now, their eyes are a little wide. The finally get to the bottom and just as they stop, a sound comes from their lips. I can only guess but the sound is probably reminiscent of ‘Hell with this!’

And then they go on their merry way.

Something in the back of my head is telling me that my writing is so horrible that they get three lines in and fall into a deep coma which, from they never wake. In effect, I am the unwitting murderer of seventy eight people. I assume it’s not true and it’s simply the tug of impatience on the part of the reader. But to have so many visit the page and then seemingly refuse to finish reading the work chips into my ‘pride wall’ and digs deep into my professional fears.

So, a couple question to all of you. Does anyone here use Writerscafe? If so, have any of you received a review? What was the review? Why does no one like me? Am I ugly? Do you consider me fat? Are their thirteen or fifty three pimples on my face and how much wood could a wood chuck chuck if a wood chuck had a wood chipper?

About Aaron Shively

I have been working as a freelance writer and artist for the last decade. In that time, I've done everything from ghostwriting to toy design and everything in between. I am currently working on a novel series called 'Myth' which has held my attention for the past sixteen years. I have spent my time developing the world, character and story and am now ready to funnel all the preliminary material into the manuscript of the first installment, 'of Men and Monsters' Bookmark & Share

Posted on 04/19/2011, in Personal, Questions, Rantings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

