AesthetiCSS


I abhor being ‘one with the crowd’. It pervades every aspect of me and what I do. I was raised to be independent of both other individuals and as much of society as I can be… Through life, however, I have been forced to succumb to some forces of help in places because, regrettably, I am human.

Yet there are still certain parts of my overt psyche that I refuse to allow to be dependent or so normal that they can be called ‘average’. They almost entirely live in the creative portion of my brain.

This blog is an extension of them.

You can now see why I’ve had so much trouble maintaining an interest in a SINGLE blog theme.

To be honest, part of it is because of the purpose of this site. It doesn’t fit easily into any of the niches to which the theme designers usually pay attention. I write, I blog about random updates (hello) AND I also upload images and illustrations. Mine is not a writer’s blog. It is not a blogger’s blog or a photographer’s blog… This section of the web is devoted to a Creator… And let’s face it, since the words ‘Gott ist tot’ were first jotted by trendy hipster, Nietzsche, creators have been shafted to hell.

Every design I like, that I haven’t seen used a thousand times by camera-toting soccer moms or loud, purposefully obnoxious video guys never seems to fit what I’m going for. For the love of our Nietzsche’s poor murdered deity, most of them can’t even display an IMAGE in the right way. And if they can, they don’t support dropdown menu bars… If they support that, then they don’t support the rating system… Even with all the previous criteria filled, the ones that are left as butt-ugly and have very little differentiation between the posts on the home page.

Not to mention the problem I have with the lack of customization of each individual theme which makes our chances of seeing the same theme on a different blog 1/2500… Sounds like a long-shot, but it’s really not. And if you have one of the newer themes, it’s likely your blog has about 50 or so twins at any given moment.

Being an artist, I’m inclined to think visually and the design of my vehicle is very important to me. Anything our eyes view is gauged on our sense of aesthetics, however subverted the judging may be in our consciousness. Because of that, when we have a medium who’s entire purpose is to present information to the public, form becomes function. This is inherent to graphic design.

I do not know CSS, which I assume is the language used to make each theme (the assumption isn’t unfounded, CSS is practically the PENCIL of the digital world, it’s incredibly versatile and used by nearly every website). I’ve tried to learn before but my other projects barred the way for my own self-improvement. To be honest, I’d probably be a lot busier if I knew CSS as I could utilize it in my freelancing… but… I’m not that interested in the field. I’d only use it to ensure that my site/blog/whatever is well designed and unique.

The problem comes now with… should I find someone who knows how to create a wordpress theme? Or should I learn the ins and outs myself, taking time away from my projects but giving me a chance to expand my horizons and have true control over ‘To Write, Perchance to Dream’?

Let me ask you. Are you enjoying the themes provided? Do they seem a bit lacking or are you liking their designs? If you were in my situation, what would you do?

Not that I’m actually going to do what you suggest… that would be far to dependent of me. šŸ˜›

– Aaron Shively

P.S. As evidence of what I was saying, I was perusing the new posts on wordpress (because I like to comment on other people’s stuff, even if it has nothing to do with my own.) and I found TWO users of the EXACT theme I’m using in a ROW…

GAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!!!

About Aaron Shively

I have been working as a freelance writer and artist for the last decade. In that time, I've done everything from ghostwriting to toy design and everything in between. I am currently working on a novel series called 'Myth' which has held my attention for the past sixteen years. I have spent my time developing the world, character and story and am now ready to funnel all the preliminary material into the manuscript of the first installment, 'of Men and Monsters' Bookmark & Share

Posted on 04/17/2011, in Personal, Questions, Rantings, Updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I think it is difficult with WP as one has this, one has that, but few have it all. Like you Aaron I am debating the CSS thing, but while it would be great to have control myself, th work would take away from all the other projects.

    A difficult debate – but I would like to say that the originality in your blog already stands out.

    • Well, thank you for the end of your statement. šŸ™‚

      I’ve taken time to learn other things before… Flash, traditional animation… Hell, if it weren’t for a tangent of study, I’d never have gotten into 3D design. Even writing started as a tangent as I always just meant to be an artist. When I discovered comic books, I took on writing and the art and created my current trajectory you see now. lol.

      The debate still rages in my head, though… CSS shouldn’t take that long to learn the basics of, but I don’t know the level of ridiculousness it might take to make a wordpress theme (and if you’d be FORCED to upload it for others to use or not.)

      Thanks for showing me that I’m not alone, though!

  2. mauruschka89

    I dont really liek all the themes on word press, but the one I have chosen are alright for me, it fits me! But in the future I will look for more themes this one is alright for know..!

Leave a Reply

