New Imagined Nation Title


With my history working with both digital medium and print, I’ve gathered a bit of knowledge of how things should be.

Values need to be discernible in full color, grayscale and halftones so the project can be displayed on all printing levels. It needs to be readable at the scale it’s going to be displayed. It needs to be engaging and derived from the subject matter (don’t make a horror book with peppy, happy cover art unless your horror is meant to be ironic). All of these things seem to be no-brainers but when you peruse sites like DeviantArt, you tend to see how young artists become engrossed in the matters at hand, namely creation of the piece itself, that they forget common sense. I have been victim to my own zealousness as well.

Having said that, I’m rather happy with this:

© Aaron Shively 2011

I shouldn’t have to explain what this is. If you have to explain to what story a certain piece of title art belongs… You’ve failed…

I’m hoping, above what I can obviously see, that I succeeded.

I’m reinventing the artwork, trying to keep the stylistic material I enjoyed and throwing away the things I didn’t like so much.

I’ll be posting more. I’ll probably be posting more tonight, in fact.

Hope you look forward to it!

About Aaron Shively

I have been working as a freelance writer and artist for the last decade. In that time, I've done everything from ghostwriting to toy design and everything in between. I am currently working on a novel series called 'Myth' which has held my attention for the past sixteen years. I have spent my time developing the world, character and story and am now ready to funnel all the preliminary material into the manuscript of the first installment, 'of Men and Monsters' Bookmark & Share

Posted on 04/14/2011, in Illustrations, Imagined Nation, Projects, Updates and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

