Example of my insanity


To the soundtrack of head hemorrhaging dark-rock (my own term, don’t google it) I’ve come to the conclusion that my Myth series will not be complete with the installments I have planned.

Here is what I had a few days ago:

  1. of Men and Monsters
  2. a Deeper Darkness
  3. Oldest Soul
  4. Crossroads
  5. Legends Rise
  6. Legends Stand
  7. Legends Fall
  8. Chiaroscuro

It was simple and would crescendo with Legends Fall, leading into Chiaroscuro which would conclude and finish with a full blown ka-fuckin-blooey, both in the story and in the reader’s mind.

As it is right now, to lead into the series which is directly tied into Myth, I would have to A, create a new transition series or B, add books onto the end of Myth with an even greater climax than the previous set…

As an aside

There’s no other alternative as I don’t write for a single character or a single story… I write for a gigantic, multi-tome universe plotline. I have the ability to focus on the individual arcs, but there’s always a prevailing overreaching greatness I’m trying to achieve. If I finish only with the single arc I create with of Men and Monsters and conclude with Legends Fall, I will tell you the story of Nikko and Claire, I will narrate the struggles they have and the horrors they face… but I would never touch on the ripples in reality they create… the echoes into eternity that prevail even into our present day world.

I have a universe. I have no humility in this fact. I’m beyond proud of my intensely layered creation I developed over years with only two other minds. With Myth, it is on my shoulders to open this universe to the world… I must begin a single, logical line of continuity that passes through thirty to forty large series.

To my knowledge, this really hasn’t been done… well.

It’s been done on smaller scales, with individual series going past the lives and adventures of characters (read the Xanth novels for an example). It’s been done on huge scales, exemplified by Marvel and DC universes (although they completely destroyed MULTIPLE incarnations with lazy, factory style writing and an off-and-on occurrence of total fan service, AKA artistic prostitution).

It’s never been done on a huge scale, like Marvel, while keeping the same integrity as the small scale, like Xanth (seriously, read it). If you find that I’m wrong, please, alert me to this universe.

The new stories that lead into the other series are too closely tied with Myth to be their own effective group. Ironically, if I attempted to make a new series, I may be bogged down with expectations that the story go in a certain direction due to the close relationships… If I keep all of the new stories as new installments in the old series, I don’t see the expectations being such a problem. It confounds common sense, but to think about it psychologically, a reader who is still in a series like Myth, a vast story based on discovery as much as resolution won’t have an expectation as they would in a YA novel like the Harry Potter series which is more about resolution and life lessons… If Harry hadn’t defeated Voldemort, there would have been a riot!.

I have the freedom to take a new direction with the same series rather than come out with a similar series that takes the same new direction… If I’m making sense to anyone, thank god.

My new list will have a few new additions. I’m unsure how many, it will probably be between three and five more. I have the long line of events that happen from the end of Chiaroscuro to the beginning of the Eternity Series… I just haven’t separated them into individual stories yet.

I absolutely KNOW what the title of the last book will be.

– Aaron Shively

What? You thought I’d tell you?

-Laughter-

About Aaron Shively

I have been working as a freelance writer and artist for the last decade. In that time, I've done everything from ghostwriting to toy design and everything in between. I am currently working on a novel series called 'Myth' which has held my attention for the past sixteen years. I have spent my time developing the world, character and story and am now ready to funnel all the preliminary material into the manuscript of the first installment, 'of Men and Monsters' Bookmark & Share

Posted on 04/08/2011, in Myth, of Men and Monsters, Personal, Rantings, Updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Time to get this written – at 52 I can’t wait forever and I want to be able to read ALL the books 🙂

    • Oh, I’m getting to it, trust me. lol

      With the way my history is, and how many doctors have told me that I seriously shouldn’t be here right now, I’m having my own panicking about not finishing them before my own demise. lol

Leave a Reply

