Imagined Nation… Re-imagining


I tried to sleep, couldn’t.

I have to say that I’m worried my constant jumping from project to project may seem flighty to you… but it’s the only way I don’t burn myself out. My life is full of emotional turmoil due to special circumstances that go even beyond the realm of what information my previous posts can give you. My work is dependent upon certain emotional states. For each project, I must be in a specific mindset… If I try to work on a certain project when I’m not feeling the corresponding emotions, I push the gears too hard and something breaks for a while. I don’t like this analogy, it makes me feel like a weird tictoc creature from OZ, but it’s the best way I can describe it.

I make up for this gross inefficiency with incredible dedication and absolute focus on the projects I can work on, when I can work on them.

I’m sitting in front of my computer, staring at seven full scripts for my ‘Imagined Nation’ strip series… which I have just written within an hour. I originally had planned for it to start small and grow to be a large scale, linearly advancing periodical series of comic strips. It still is, but I had previously had a ‘grace period’ in the first ten strips where there was more of a gagstrip feel than a story-line and each installment didn’t rely on a joke from one that came before. I called it the ‘introductory’ period.

That introductory period is gone. It was a good idea, but it’s not flowing with where the story is taking me. It seems pandering, too overly functional and lacking in a real purpose… Do you ever get that, where you have a part of your story that’s in there because you think it’s going to function well with the mechanics of the story… but it turns out to be a really well designed horse shoe remover apparatus on a brand new car; completely useless, despite it’s flawless operation?

So, the horse shoe remover is gone from my Escalade.

The first arc will be called ‘Are You Afraid of the Snark’ and will introduce the three major characters.

  • Javier
    • a sharp, witty, creative mexican-american kid caught in the anger of heavy-metal and the apathy of the modern age.
  • Harold
    • A seasoned room-haunter bogey who’s unhappily surprised by Javier’s refusal to be afraid of him. He also may or may not be afraid of the Easter Bunny.
  • Roger
    • Harold’s less-than-stellar third cousin on his mother’s third ex-husband’s side (he thinks) who has been assigned, by the regional manager as Harold’s second… out of spite… for both of of them.

Javier’s quest to become a great monster hunter will lead the three to Under There, Over Here, and Everywhichway. They will meet people and creatures none of them ever thought existed. They may end up saving existence as we know it… unless there’s a really cool consolation prize… Then we’re screwed.

This project is really exciting because it opens up a new part to the Errant Universe where three OTHER stories take place… ‘Binty’, ‘the Naughty List’, and ‘Skins and Bones’. This area is called ‘MindSide’. It is controlled by reapers, dreamers, shadows and sprites. All the light and dark fantasies that we lost coming into our age of enlightenment found refuge there and from that land, they affect us through fears and desires.

I’m not going to throw myself into this… My wife suggested bi-weekly and I’m leaning towards agreeing with her… Expect to see a redrawn first installment soon… and maybe the second with it.

About Aaron Shively

I have been working as a freelance writer and artist for the last decade. In that time, I've done everything from ghostwriting to toy design and everything in between. I am currently working on a novel series called 'Myth' which has held my attention for the past sixteen years. I have spent my time developing the world, character and story and am now ready to funnel all the preliminary material into the manuscript of the first installment, 'of Men and Monsters' Bookmark & Share

Posted on 03/27/2011, in Imagined Nation, Projects, Rantings, Updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I was stunned recently, to be awarded the Versatile Blogger Award from RoughWaterJohn the Pirate. He has the most incredible blog that I feel – WOW, blown away by it all. It comes with a few requirements though, all of which are reasonable and not too demanding.
    The three requirements are:
    1. Thank the person who gave you the reward.
    2. List seven random facts about yourself.
    3. Nominate fifteen new bloggers for the award.
    Now John did not stick to the criteria, and I don’t believe I will be either. I have gone for quality rather than quantity. I think that your blog fits the requirements.

    http://jobryantnz.wordpress.com/2011/04/07/versatile-blogger-award/

Leave a Reply

