Myth Concept 2 – Althrian alphabet


I introduce you to the Althrian Alphabet!

© Aaron Shively 2011

This really isn’t used much in the first book… but the subsequent seven have symbols and words that need to be discussed. People learn the languages and little snippets should be added for realism. Surprisingly, this is not the only language I have to make for this series…

To be fair, there are TWO althrian alphabets… this is their modern language, the other is their ancient pictographs. The ancient alphabet comes into play pretty quickly, but it’s never really explained in detail.

Etymology, punctuation and grammar are going to come later… but I have to crawl before I can walk, then walk before I can run, I guess… It’s just so damn hard to try not to blast off into space before building the rocket ship.

– Aaron Shively

About Aaron Shively

I have been working as a freelance writer and artist for the last decade. In that time, I've done everything from ghostwriting to toy design and everything in between. I am currently working on a novel series called 'Myth' which has held my attention for the past sixteen years. I have spent my time developing the world, character and story and am now ready to funnel all the preliminary material into the manuscript of the first installment, 'of Men and Monsters' Bookmark & Share

Posted on 03/23/2011, in Concepts, Images, Myth Concepts, of Men and Monsters Concepts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. That is exactly what I was hoping you would do.

  2. Interesting. However, I expected the alphabet to be a little more complex. With a race such as theirs they would have developed a very intricate language and as you said it starts with the alphabet. Perhaps when you create the speech and grammar it will add it.

    • That’s the thing, I think a complex and intelligent race would create the simplest method of communication. This alphabet can potentially create 242 DIFFERENT phonetic sounds. Compared with our 36, you really do have something complex and capable of making every major sound needed for intricate communication.

      The Aelphi alphabet will be ridiculously complex, though.

Leave a Reply

