First real update and my attempt at not being snarky


I have completed the first draft of the first chapter of Myth: of Men and Monsters.

To let you all in on a little bit of this, the first chapter is meant to be more of a prologue. I gave it it’s own part, which is why there’s no chapter title. It takes place a good while before the bulk of the rest of the story. And jesus christ, when I say ‘bulk’, I seriously mean it.

 

Now for the rambling ranting of an erratic mind:

Am I the only one that publicizes my writing like this? When I go on tag surfer (my attempt at reading others’ work) I can never find anything in the length of my work… I don’t want to comment on other writers who post smaller pieces, making them feel obligated to read my miles of writing…

 

So…Any ideas? I want more friends. I want to read more. I want to have a pulse on writers like me who are really just starting out. I’d like to get a group of us going on that can provide each other support every now and again.

 

Maybe I’m just not looking hard enough. I search for a while, then just end up writing more. šŸ˜›

 

-Aaron Shively

About Aaron Shively

I have been working as a freelance writer and artist for the last decade. In that time, I've done everything from ghostwriting to toy design and everything in between. I am currently working on a novel series called 'Myth' which has held my attention for the past sixteen years. I have spent my time developing the world, character and story and am now ready to funnel all the preliminary material into the manuscript of the first installment, 'of Men and Monsters' Bookmark & Share

Posted on 03/16/2011, in Questions, Rantings, Updates and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I will join that group if you are making one. Though, it might be awhile before my posts are quite as long as yours

  2. There are a lot of excellent writers’ groups out there. In my opinion, the best ones tend to exist in closed environments with carefully moderated memberships, but they are out there. Something as simple as walking into a group (metaphorically speaking) and saying “Hi” can often have surprising results. If nothing else, you’re meeting with people who understand exactly what writing is like and won’t think you’re insane for talking about the trials and tribulations of your characters like they are “real” people. And it’s ALL promo, from the first time you type your name.
    If you would like some suggestions, feel free to email me off-thread. In the meantime, sounds like you’ve got a hell of a project carved out for yourself. Best of luck!

    Best,

    J.S. Wayne

    • Thanks for the reply.

      Yes, my project is one hell… one giant, shoulder breaking hell. But, even through my whining and bitching, can you tell that I still love it?
      16 years of it, to be exact.

      I just might take you up on the email offer. I’ll have to let it ferment in my head. If it doesn’t evaporate into nothingness, that is to say if I remember it, I’ll send one out.

      -Aaron

Leave a Reply

