3/12 contest entry


This is an entry to Gabriela Lessa’s 3/12 Big Birthday Bash (I’m sure she’s gotten many happy birthday wishes and will be getting one from me as well). Go visit the entry post and check it out!

(to my readers, of whom there are so few, this is the first 312 words of the first chapter of the Pandora Dilemma… if you’ve read it, don’t worry ’bout it, there’s nothing changed.)

Title: the Pandora Dilemma

Genre: Sci-fi, Thriller

Status: WIP

“Dammit!”

Dustin practically stood from his bed. He hadn’t noticed how many times he had struck the snooze button but he could assume it was fifteen too many. Confusing images of a woman and some train ran along the edge of his consciousness. They coalesced into what he could see as memories but they were so damn slippery. As soon as he thought he had a grasp on them they popped past the boundary and were gone. By the time he turned the shower head off and grabbed his towel they had swirled down the drain with the rest of last night’s cast-off.

All, except a few special moments.

He remembered he’d been at the bar. To clarify, he’d been at six bars but once he’d been to one, he was usually so drunk that he didn’t know which is which. It had been sunday, which he would always argue was still a party day, and he was out for his last hurrah before the dullness of the week could be forced down on him. He had found it in the arms and between the thighs of some pretty little nameless creature he’d picked up. He couldn’t even see her face anymore but that didn’t matter much. She didn’t leave her phone number. In fact, she booked it out of there before he woke up. He thought he could safely assume she wasn’t interested in him for boyfriend material.

“I’ve got to stop drinking.”

His foot nearly slipped on the silk black panties she left behind on his floor. A flash of the woman and what they had done went off in his head. He gave a quick smile to himself before buttoning his pants and making his way through his house, gathering his things.

“Never mind.”

He walked into his kitchen, a small hole kept hidden in his slightly larger hole

 

About Aaron Shively

I have been working as a freelance writer and artist for the last decade. In that time, I've done everything from ghostwriting to toy design and everything in between. I am currently working on a novel series called 'Myth' which has held my attention for the past sixteen years. I have spent my time developing the world, character and story and am now ready to funnel all the preliminary material into the manuscript of the first installment, 'of Men and Monsters' Bookmark & Share

Posted on 03/12/2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. What a good opening (although I’d take the adverb out of the first line – if you can get through 5-10 pages without one, you’re good). i was sucked in and I love this guy’s voice.

    • Thank you for your critique! I’m wrestling with myself as to when I should edit. This is part of a novella serial I’m hoping to (at the very least) publish in a sci-fi magazine. I don’t know whether to edit each installment as they finish their first draft, or take them all as a whole.

  2. Congratulations! Good entry.

  3. Gabriela Lessa

    Congratulations! You are one of the 12 finalists! Your entry has been forwarded to guest judge Lora Rivera. The 3 winners will be announced on March 30th. Thanks for entering the contest and giving me the chance to read some great writing! Good luck!

  4. Gabriela Lessa

    Hey Aaron! Great post! It’s just 311 words long though…. Would you mind adding the extra word? I’ll check back later!

    • Wow, that’s what I get for trusting a program to count the words for me.
      Thanks for the heads up, it’s updated now. I’m glad you seem to be enjoying it, though 😉
      Happy Birthday, again.

  5. I’ve gatta admit, this immediately had me hooked. You have a very strong voice- I’m going to have to check out your other posts to get some more of your writing. Great first 312.

    • Thank you, that really means a lot (as I’m sure I don’t have to explain to anyone who writes or has anything to do with the field). I was recently made aware that it was only 311 words, however, and I think the last word I added is a real zinger… if you liked the first 311, you’ll love this last one 😉

  6. I like this guy already. He fits in nice with one of my buggers. Love your opening. Nicely done.

    • I’m happy you enjoyed him. I assume you have your work on your blog. I’ll take a look when I get back to my laptop, reading a blog on my phone can be a bit painstaking.

Leave a Reply

