NaNoWriMo and why I’m not doing it.


NaNoWriMo is, without a doubt, the olympics of writing. You have some great athletes, pulling out incredible performances… but the Michael Jordans and the Tiger Woods still get all the chicks (in Tiger’s case, that’s literal).

YEEEEAEAAAAAAAAWH

I would love to participate in the challenge. There’s no shortage of ideas, but there is a deficit in time.

I’m working on starting a business. No, not some multi-level marketing thing where I can ‘work from home’ and makes millions in my first week, all I have to do is send this guru thirty thousand dollars and then subscribe to every belief system he’s created.

I’m writing out the business plan and working on the product line of ERRANT Studios Inc., a new digital comics and book publisher focusing on, as the name would insinuate, a ‘different’ kind of entertainment. Basically, we’re talking about a publishing company manifested into reality and controlled by and geared towards creators and writers.

It will be ran as a business, focusing on quality. But our genres aren’t going to be so horribly restricted. We’ll accept different kinds of subject matter. And all titles we publish must be able to exist in the same universe. (We will have a different line for out-of-universe stories called Erratic.)

To do so, like I said, I’ve been working on the business plan. I’ve been developing our marketing strategy and doing research on various aspects of the industry. I’ve also created write ups of our member-owned products, describing in full detail their summaries, market analogies (what popular titles are they most similar to), how they are similar to those analogies, how they differ, and what innovations the product will bring to the table. (The business plan is to find investors willing to give us money to start this company… We need quite a bit.)

On top of all that, I need to write out the scripts for the graphic novels in which I have a personal stake. Normally our numbers are balanced between the CORE Members but out of the EIGHTEEN titles we have ready to go, I own part or all of  SIXTEEN.

This creates quite a predicament for me.

So I’ve come to announce that instead of taking part in NaNoWriMo, I’m going to do NaGraNoWriMo.

That’s right, National Graphic Novel Writing Month.

Not to be confused with GrannyWriMo, NanoRyhmo, NanoThighsMo, or BananaRhymo. (All of which are equally made-up.)

Of course, NaGraNoWriMo isn’t real. I made it up this morning while recovering from a headache. I don’t have the foggiest idea of where it came from.

No idea at all...

That being the case, I might as well take part in another fake challenge. I like the sound of BananaRhymo.

So here’s my entry:

Banana Extravaganza.

It’s not perfect. But, I have a month to perfect it.

About Aaron Shively

I have been working as a freelance writer and artist for the last decade. In that time, I've done everything from ghostwriting to toy design and everything in between. I am currently working on a novel series called 'Myth' which has held my attention for the past sixteen years. I have spent my time developing the world, character and story and am now ready to funnel all the preliminary material into the manuscript of the first installment, 'of Men and Monsters' Bookmark & Share

Posted on 11/01/2011, in Collaboration, Concepts, Personal, Projects, Rantings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. You never fail to amuse me, sir. I need to participate in NanoThighsMo. Assuming it’s a month where you get rid of your thighs. :-P

    • Hmmm, I believe that would be the meaning… although, it could be a robotics challenge to develop a robotic walking solution for nanotech creatures. I haven’t decided.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

